MG Car Club Yorkshire Centre

Contact us by Email

MG_Web_Banner_10
MG_Web_Banner_5
MG_Web_Banner_17
MG_Web_Banner_15
MG_Web_Banner_12
MG_Web_Banner_6
End of Season Run

North Yorkshire End of Season Run Saturday 23rd September 2017.

Seventeen cars met up at the Bay Horse Snaygill where information packs were handed out, tea /coffee and a general chat amongst friends before departing for the Lakeland Motor Museum at Backbarrow where dedicated parking along with a concessionary entry fee had been arranged.

After a very pleasant lunch in the Ambio Cafe adjacent to the museum we started out tour of the exhibits armed with our quiz sheets which made for a certain amount of head scratching, even the museum manager could not help with  a certain Charlote question.

Thanks to Nick & Tess Mann for organizing a very enjoyable day

Otley Vintage & Classic Show

Sunday 10th September 2017 the Vale of York natter organized a club stand at the Otley Vintage & Classic Show.

Although a little blustery the rain held off and the day was enjoyed by all who attended,

Thanks to Ken Cothliff for once again for organizing the day.

Dales Run Sunday 27th August 2017

Dales Run 2017

As last year, the sun was again shining on ‘God’s own county’, as the MGs of all types assembled at the Bay Horse Pub in Skipton, “Gateway to the Dales” on August Bank Holiday Sunday. This year there were 108 entries with 94 actually turning up on the day? It was noticeable in the car park, there were fewer ‘other types’ joining us, but the MG total was the best in many years – from Norman Verona’s 1949 MGTC to a new MG6. No ‘Y-types’ this year – Robin Lowery had planned to bring his, but the sunny morning meant a change of mind to his MGA roadster and Dennis Greenwood cancelled due to illness.

We had several visitors from further climes including a contingent from Tyneside led by Noel Linford in his MGF TF, and from the Cotswolds, John Weston in his 1968 MGC GT. There were several Lincolnshire Centre members too, including Chris Moncaster (MGB)                         and John Rogers (MGF TF).

After coffee and suitably refreshed by ‘bacon butties’, the participants left for the planned run of 111 miles, organised by Paul Croft. Heading through Skipton and up the A65 to Gargrave, we left the main road for the side roads of eastern Lancashire, through the Gisburn Forest, and over the ‘tops’ northwards towards Ingleton, with spectacular views of ‘Pen-y-Ghent’ and ‘Ingleborough’, two of the highest hills of the Pennines.

At this point Julie and I in “Marmalade”, our MGB, missed a left turn and quickly found our way on to the A65 again a little too early! So a quick recalculation of our navigation and we headed north to re-join the suggested route, and after a few miles we were back on track, turning off the A65 at Kirby Lonsdale and into the Yorkshire Dales National Park. After a couple of miles we turned right for the village of Bardon, and into Bondale, with the third great hill of the northern Pennines, ‘Whernside’ to our right, then up to another unfenced road to the pretty village of Dent, with its cobbled streets.  A run along Dentdale with its little beck, took us to Cowgiil and past Dent Station, the highest mainline station in the England, at 1175 ft., on the Settle to Carlisle railway line. Here we joined the A684 into Hawes, home of Wesleydale Creamery and Cheese factory, much loved by Wallace and Gromit. This was our lunchtime stop; to rest and refresh and a chance to taste a sample or two of cheese!

Our return run took us through Gayle, past its 18th century cotton mill, (possibly one of the first in the North), and again over the moors of Wether Fell and across a Roman road. Looking to the west one could catch sight of the Irish Sea and Morecambe Bay. Dropping down to Oughtershaw, we drove alongside the upper waters of the River Wharfe, though Hubberholme, and its excellent pub, the George Inn, and on to Buckden, and Kettlewell. Passing the spectacular Kilnsey Crag we skirted Grassington, and south through Rylestone, whose naked ladies did so much for cancer charities with their calendar, and we were soon back at the Bay Horse, ‘wetting our collective whistles’ with some fine Yorkshire ale, and wine, before an evening meal in the sunshine.

The event was supported by several sponsors including Stanley Cars, the local MG dealer who brought an MG3 and MG GS along; AMK Engineering of Earby, A.S. Pickering of Bradford, and the Bay Horse, Bradley. With the support of MGCC North Yorkshire members and wives organising raffles and book sales, the event managed to raise £1000 for our charity, the Yorkshire Air Ambulance. A special thanks to Paul for organising the run itself, and the NY MCC members for helping out on the day

A successful day, so we hope more MGCC members will join us next August Bank Holiday, 26th August 2018 for the Dales Run 2018 to enjoy some of the most spectacular scenery in England.

Ken & Julie Cothliff and “Marmalade”

Click on link to view all Neil Croft’s photographs

https://flic.kr/s/aHsm1Xmbcq

Thornes Park Classic Gathering July 2017

West members once again supported this Friday afternoon/evening gathering.

An excellent display of over 700 vehicles of all descriptions were on display.

Thank’s to Mick Thorpe for organizing our club stand.

Harewood House Classic Cars July 2017

Yorkshire Centre cars from North, West, Vale of York & 24/39 Group attended this event. Our selection of MG’s were placed directly in front of Harewood House.

Centre President Alan Dakeyne was awarded Best Saloon 1950’s with his 1957 Magnette.

Thank’s to Ken Cothliff for organizing the event and obtaining our FREE entry.

 

Wolds Way Run !4th May 2017

After the 2016 Wolds Way Run it was suggested we approach the Hull 2017 UK City of Culture organizers to have the 22nd run starting from the city centre.  There could only be one location; around the Rose Bowl Fountain, Queen’s Gardens.  What we were to realise was the preparation involved.  Apart from getting the route approved and a permit from the Motor Sports Association, informing the police planning department of our intention, we had to do procedures and risk assessments. Fortunately the MSA has a template risk assessment on its website.

Special permission was required from the Hull City Council to assemble 100 cars.

Helen Thackeray, Events Officer on the Hull City Events Team, became our contact.  Helen eventually managed to get passed all the necessary permissions we needed.

By early March Christine and Adrian Benson had plotted the route with Geoff and Christine Kirk doing the proof. We had the sponsorship of Maple Garage, Priestley, the local MG Dealership who again kindly provided the plaques for the route.

Christine and Geoff Kirk obtained sponsors along the route for the raffle for the charity Max Appeal and they soon had over £200 worth of prizes.  With the addition of Interesting Places and the Menu for Ceruttis Restaurant for the 70 entrants who had pre-booked to dine, the route book was taking shape. The BBC reception and cafe was to open especially for the event.

Entry forms came in quickly and exactly a month before the event we had reached our goal of 100 cars. A lot of new entries from outside Yorkshire and many stayed for the weekend.

A site visit to the Rose Bowl by the event committee to test parking of cars was given special permission.  Steve Moore’s calculation that we just might get 100 cars parked nose to tail anti-clockwise, 4 deep, proved correct but only if contractor fencing was removed.  Where and how would we get the cars onto the site?  Ramps! Adrian Benson volunteered to make them. Helen was informed of our intentions and we possibly needed overflow parking. Free parking was obtained in Guildhall Road, or so we thought.

With the BGT packed we set off for the Rose Bowl, it was raining heavily.  With ramps, signs and flags in place the early entrants signing in were welcomed by Jill, June, Christine and Wendy.  The Yorkshire Air Ambulance volunteers arrived, put up their gazebo and Maple Garage brought the new MG GS and MG3.  The sun came with them. All gleaming, shining, looking fantastic, parked many MGs, Mazdas, BMWs, Lotus and a Bentley, 100 classic and sports cars around the fountain. The oldest, Giles Peacock’s 1932 D-Type Midget and the newest, Sally Thackray’s MG3.

A traffic warden arrived who possibly thought he was going to break his record of issuing tickets on one day! Fortunately Jill had the email for the parking on her phone.

James Hoggarth of BBC Radio Humberside did live interviews on his show and the BBC brought a TV camera.  The coverage was twice shown by Look North that Sunday and also of the cars driving across the Wolds.

The weather stayed dry and bright with stunning views across the Wolds and its famous big skies. People waved as the cars travelling through the lovely villages.  Around lunch time most of the entrants had reached Sledmere House then turned south for the return trip into Hull gathering near Victoria Pier. The raffle for Max Appeal was drawn by MGCC Yorkshire President, Alan Dakeyne, at Ceruttis Restaurant.

Thank you, the entrants, sponsors and officials including the Hull City Council, for enabling The Wolds Way Run to raise over £1000 for the Yorkshire Air Ambulance and Max Appeal.

We had such good feedback on the start location. Should we do it again next time?

 

 

 

 

The Wolds Way Run kicked off on what at first seemed to be a rainy wet morning. Upon our arrival this magically changed into a glorious sunny day. The Yorkshire Wolds has always boasted about its big skies and we were delighted they decided to show for the run.

Over 100 entered the event raising over £1000 for the Yorkshire Air Ambulance and Max Appeal. The charities have expressed their appreciation of our donations. Our thanks to Maple Garage who provided the rally plaques and brought the new MG GS and MG3 at the start for all to view. We had great coverage from BBC Look North and James Hoggarth on Radio Humberside. Finally our thanks go out to all the team for a superb run and organisation.

 

 

Dear Chris,

I write on behalf of Max Appeal and all our membership to thank you and the MG Car Club Yorkshire Centre for letting us be part of the 2017 Wolds Way run.

It was a privilege to be able to see so many MG’s in all their splendour and the pride taken by all your members was clear to see. Special thanks must go to both Giles and Geoff who allowed some of our party to take a ride in their fabulous cars along with all the other owners who made us all feel welcome and let us ask so many questions whilst admiring their MG’s.  I attach a few photographs which I hope bring you as much joy as it did our children on the day.

Max Appeal is a small national charity and our members all have a passion for raising awareness of a condition that affects so many yet is rarely heard off amongst the general public and medical professionals and so having mentions by esteemed broadcasters such as the BBC is priceless to us and we can’t thank all the organisers enough for putting together what for us was an amazing day.

I am reliably informed your club also raised a magnificent total of £315 through your raffle and I wanted to give you an idea on how this will help a small charity such as Max Appeal, next Sunday we join a global ‘22q at the Zoo’ awareness day and the funds you have raised will help subsidies in the region 150  members at various UK Zoo locations as we raise awareness of 22q11ds and come together as families to support each other.

I finish by wishing your club future success and now that my son has decided I must buy an MG myself then perhaps one day we can look forward to joining you once again on a future Wolds Way Run.

Many thanks

Mark Tripp

Max Appeal Trustee

© Max Appeal, 15 Meriden Avenue, Wollaston, Stourbridge, West Midlands, DY8 4QN, Tel: 0300 999 2211 Registered Charity No. 1

 

Daffodil Run Easter Sunday 16th April 2017

Daffodil Run 2017

The sun was peeking through the clouds as our 1973 MGB “Marmalade” joined the starters at McDonalds at Clifton Moor, York for the Yorkshire Area Centre spring “Daffodil Run” through North Yorkshire and the Howardian Hills, some of England’s most spectacular countryside. The route was planned by the two David’s Chapman & Copeman of the West Yorkshire Natter, with the support of sponsors Retro Sports Cars, and Boom Marketing who produced the route booklet.

Some 80 cars had planned to come, and there were a few late additions taking the number a little higher. In addition to the majority of MGs were a few visitors including the lovely 1930’s Lagonda drophead saloon of David Lloyd, Brian Viney’s 1961 Jaguar 3.8 Saloon, and Derrick and Sue Gough’s 1966 Austin A40, not unrelated to the MG marque through its BMC heritage and engine. East Yorkshire MGCC member Chris Moore brought his 1990 V8 Landrover to add a rustic flavour to the runners. Members from all the eight Natters of the MGCC were well represented although the poor forecast kept some of the older cars indoors.

The route took us north alongside east bank of the River Ouse towards the village of Helperby Brafferton, past the old RAF stations at Linton on Ouse, Dalton and Tholthorpe, though an area that saw much action with RAF Bomber Command just 75 years ago. We then headed north east toward the Hambleton Hills, through the pretty village of Kilburn, famous for the master wood craftsman Robert “Mouseman” Thompson, and up the steep hill past the “Kilburn White Horse” and Yorkshire Gliding Club on the top of Whitestone Cliff, to the North Yorkshire Moors visitor centre. Here the route took us through lots of small tortuous hills and farm lanes towards Hawnby, and past the wonderful ruins of Reivaulx Abbey to the busy market town of Helmsley. It was notable how many 4WD vehicles confronted us, and yet it was us that had to move over, not the 4WDs; several members commented on this.

By this time the forecast clouds had arrived and rain had set in, so those hardy souls who had started out ‘topless’ had resorted to hood up. Leaving Helmsley, and the excellent selection of pubs, we headed towards the Howardian Hills, through the pretty villages of Harome, and Hovingham. Normally this is where we see the best displays of roadside Daffodils, but with the warm spring and the recent cooler weather, they were past their best.

After a roadside picnic huddled in “Marmalade” in the pouring rain at Nunnington, by the Elizabethan stately home, the rest of the run was an enjoyable route around the countryside east of York, past locations featured on TV personality Tony Robinson’s Coast to Coast walk programme on TV only a couple of days before, through more pretty villages, and the Derwent Valley, eventually approaching our destination at Elvington – the Yorkshire Air Museum. Their new exhibit, a French Air Force Mirage IV Nuclear bomber, still in its shrink wrap protection from its transit from France, was a highlight exhibit, and the NAAFI provided welcome hot food and drinks.

Our thanks go to David Chapman for all his hard administration work and car parking skills, and if any folks from southern England, or Scotland want to visit “God’s own County”, join us 2018 for Yorkshire Centre’s “The Daffodil  Run” or the “Dales Run” this coming August – details on the MGCC Yorkshire Centre website.

Now I’m off to give “Marmalade” a good wash and rub down!

 

Ken and Julie Cothliff and “Marmalade”

Awards Lunch 2017

The MG Car Club Yorkshire Centre Awards Lunch was held at the Mecure Hotel Wetherby on Sunday 12th March.

MG Car Club Director George Wilder once again was tasked with the job of judging the photographic competition.

 

For the second year running a photograph from the 24/39 Group was chosen         the F Type owned by Bob & Beth Walker  taken during the MMM tour of Ireland was the winning entry.

 

Trophy Awards for 2016

North Yorkshire- Kenning Trophy – Mike & Val Payne

South Yorkshire – Stross Trophy – Marie Dobson

East Yorkshire – Bronte Trophy – Geoff Kirk

West Yorkshire – Paragon Trophy – David Chapman

Lady Enthusiast – Goathland Trophy – Chris Moore

Centre Enthusiast – Howarth Trophy – Ken Cothliff

Marshalling – Weir Head Trophy – John Milner

Auto-Sport – Uniflow Trophy – Jeff Marsden

Kimber Distance Trophy – Jeff & Kate Marsden

Young Enthusiast – Sophie Flanagan

Outstanding Contribution to Centre – Airedale Trophy – Alan Dakeyne

Inte-Natter Quiz – Patrick Heap Memorial Trophy Team

Cliff & Janice Hobbs, Mike & Sue Silk

Chairman’s Pot – Richard Price Memorial Trophy – Andrew Murfin

West Christmas Lunch

Sunday 11th December and we were meeting up once again for our Christmas lunch at the Gomersal Park Hotel surely it can’t be 12 months since we were here.

A very convivial afternoon completed with a visit from Santa.

West Yorkshire Narrowboat Cruise Sunday 2nd October 2016

 

Mick Thorpe organised a full day out on the River Calder and the Calder and Hebble Canal.

The Narrowboat is moored at the Wakefield Sea Cadets but belongs to the Boy Scout Movement, the boat was skippered by Mick’s son Chris, and the buffet lunch was prepared by Judith Mick’s wife.

After a safety induction from Chris it was time to attempt to put on the life jackets for those going on deck or going to open/close the twelve locks we would encounter throughout the day.

Members took turns to skipper the boat, with Geoffrey Wilsons slalom remaining the most memorable.

A great day out enjoyed by all.

Click on photographs to enlarge

North Yorkshire End of Season Run Saturday 24th September 2016

 

North Yorkshire End of Season the entry is free with a donation of your choice, £300 was raised for the Alzheimer’s Society

Click on photograph’s to enlarge

Bubble Car Museum Camping Weekend 9th September 2016

 

Despite early booking there was not enough electric hook ups for us all; 5 caravans and 1 tent.  Then there was a problem with the BBQ meal we had ordered for Saturday evening. Heavy rain!

Day visitors David and Carol were the first to go around the museum with the campers following.  A very interesting collection not only of bubble cars but, motorcycles, bond cars, cycles and lots of memorabilia.

The museum also has a lovely cafe and it was here we had our meal with the meat cooked in the oven.  Also on the menu were fresh salads and home baked bread and to drink their home bottled cider.

A most enjoyable weekend break

Chris Moore

Click on photographs to enlarge

Dales Run Sunday 28th August 2016

Rosemary and I wish to take this opportunity to say how delighted and relieved we are that the Dale Run went smoothly with no apparent snags or complaints, and would like to thank all those who contributed to its success.

Obviously it could not have happened without the efforts of the many North Yorkshire members who organized the parking, the raffle, book sales and registration

The North Yorkshire Natter has raised sufficient funds to contribute another £1000 to The Y.A.A, taking our total sum raised to date to over £8000, and in addition, has provided a couple of hundred MG enthusiasts with a “Grand Day Out”, a result of which we can all be justifiably proud.

Paul & Rosemary Croft

Burley in Wharfedale Show 21st August 2016

North Yorkshire car display

Croft Nostalgia Weekend 6-7 August 2016

 

This is the first time I have attended the Nostalgia Weekend, or Croft Circuit for that matter.  Both are well worth a visit.  The weather on the Sunday was mainly dry but incredibly windy – several gents ran past me chasing stray caps and my long neglected sprinting abilities were called upon to save one small child’s cuddly toy!!

As well as a classic race meeting, the weekend also features Military and Commercial vehicles, Classic Motorbikes and aircraft.  Many of the attendees dress up in period, lending the whole affair a bit of a ‘Goodwood in the North’ feel.

Croft itself is a super little circuit with a couple of long straights and a challenging mixture of fast and slow corners.  Viewing is excellent.

Words & Photo’s by David Doulin

Compass Run 31st July 2016

 

Compass Run 31st July 2016

The Compass Run is held on the Sunday nearest to Yorkshire Day.

Taken in a yearly rotation each natter organises a central finish venue that each natter then plan a scenic run to.

West Yorkshire arranged this year’s venue at The Yorkshire Farming Museum, Murton, York, which also includes the Derwent Light Railway.

The museum management could not have been more helpful in allowing us to display our cars central to their exhibits with unlimited access to the museum including free rides on the railway.

Members from North Yorkshire started from Tong Garden Centre joining West members for breakfast. Twenty one cars took a scenic 58 mile route which conveniently passed the Scott’s Arms at Sicklinghall home of the 24/39 Group (MMM) who also joined the same route.

South and East Yorkshire also had breakfast starts prior to their runs. All very civilised.

The MGCC Marque of Friendship was in abundance as Chris Flanagan and family went out of their way to assist Daren Porter whose BGT kept stopping by diverting to Harrogate looking for a replacement coil, luckily Snowdon’s of Harrogate where able to oblige. Later in the day another BGT belonging to Richard & Jill Coates failed to start as they were about to leave once again members rallied round to push the car out of the museum and onto the road just as the AA man arrived a faulty connection was quickly diagnosed.

In total 51 cars and over 100 members had a very enjoyable day, thanks’ to all who attended.

As a thank you to the museum & railway for allowing us free entry & rides a collection raised £154.00

 

European Event of The Year 2016

 

The MG Club of France hosted the European event of the Year 2016 based in the charming resort of Le Touquet Paris Plage from June 8th to the 12th.

Photographs Pete Long & Cliff Hobbs

West Yorkshire Pride of Ownership 17th May 2016

 

 

A good selection of MG’s made for difficult judging, with cars ranging from Alan Dakeynes 1939 VA, Frog Eyed Sprite, B’s, RV8, Metro Turbo, F/Tf,s ZR, ZTT , a stunning Jaguar Coupe and Mini Cooper

Voted Best Car was Richard Wilson’s rare Metro Turbo

Second place Martin Sprowell’s Mini Cooper

Third place Chris & June Worsmans MGB

The Presidents Choice this year went Geoff Morris’ very nice MGF

A Pie & Pea Supper followed by a raffle finished off a great evening, thank’s to all who attended.

Click on photo’s to enlarge

North Yorkshire Pride of Ownership 12th May 2016

 

A fine collection of cars on show.

Keith & Margaret Benningfield’s TC voted Best in Show

Jeff & Kate Marsden’s TD second place

Bill & Sandra Poole’s MGA third place

Wolds Way Run 8th May 2016

 

The 21st Wolds Way Run

The weather the previous weekend was more like winter than spring so we were relieved to see sun and blue skies as we set out to our hosts and plaque sponsors Maple Garage at Sproately.

There were some very early arrivals catching us out on the signing in desk, but the new MG models in the show room caught their attention and there were raffle tickets in aid of the charity Max Appeal to purchase. Soon more gleaming cars arrived all eager for the start.  Richard Dee arrived with his camera drone and took some interesting ariel shots.

The oldest MG cars; a 1939 TA, 2 MG TDs, 2 MGAs, and a 1960 MG Mk3 Farina, were joined by a 1946 Morris 8 series E and a Ford Cortina MK2 at the start.  These were followed by the chrome Bs and Midgets of the 1960’s and 70’s. Then the later MG models took to the route including our MG Maestro, a Eunos, BMW Z3, Mazda MX5, Porsche Boxster, NG Henley, Ford Escort Cabriolet and a Toyota Celica GT4.  A grand selection of sports and classic cars all gleaming in the sunshine.

The problem with a lovely warm sunny Sunday is that everyone had the idea to go out for a drive and unfortunately we found ourselves crossing heavy traffic heading for Bridlington.  We were treated to some wonderful views of Burton Constable Hall, Hornsea Mere and many pretty, interesting villages on route.  The countryside could not have looked better with the blossom in the hedgerows, the bright yellow fields of oil seed rape and the fresh green foliage growth everywhere and blue, such big blue skies.  The Yorkshire Wolds is often overlooked, visitors favouring the Dales and the Moors, and until David Hockney unfolded its beauty, was our secret. Perfect for country driving.

Lunch-time found most entrants favouring a picnic at Sledmere House, a stately home with tea rooms, art gallery, memorials, museums, toilets and free parking!  We enjoyed our luncheon beneath the magnificent beech trees and our dog met up with fellow 4 legged travellers.

From Sledmere we ventured onto Wetwang, Huggate then onto Millington Pastures where, on the single track road, we got a wheel stuck when meeting a car travelling in the opposite direction.  The grass verge was soft and the bank steep and our sump was on the tarmac.  Fortunately lightening the load (I got out) and with careful reversing we escaped.

For the very first time on the Wolds Way Run we easily got parked in the village of Millington.  At The Gait Inn landlord Stuart was concerned for us as he had hardly seen an MG all day.  They’re still at Sledmere enjoying the sun was our reply!

Suitably refreshed we travelled on through more lovely villages, Newbald and Welton and eventually met up at the finish near to the Victoria Pier in the city of Hull.  This was not to be our original meeting point but the original car park became unavailable.  With only 2 weeks to the run committee member Christine Kirk asked Tony Ceruttis, restaurant owner, for help. We use his and neighbours’ private car parks, saving the day!

In 2017 with Kingston Upon Hull being the City of Culture we are to plan something a little different for the 22nd Wolds Way Run.  Details shall be available early next year.

Chris Moore

 

 

24/39 Drive it Day 24th April 2016

 

Thank’s to Bob & Beth Walker for once again organising the finish venue at The Yorkshire Smokehouse for the various North & West  runs to finish at!

South Yorkshire's Drive it Day 24th April 2016

 

Cars at the start and finish venue of the run.

Bradford Police Museum Tour 20th April 2016

 

Bradford Police Museum

West Yorkshire members had an evening visit to the Bradford Police Museum, Bradford’s original police station 1874-1974 in Bradford’s Town Hall.

Our tour guides Martin Baines, Chris Corrigan, Les Scaife plus a constable dressed in the uniform of the day (all retired police officers). Groups were escorted around the outside of city Hall and given an insight into what a day in the life of a 1900th century policeman was like.

 

Unfortunately the constable thought some of the groups appeared to be disturbing the peace so all were put under arrest and marched into the station and presented to the desk to be processed before being taken to the cells (The one that Houdini escaped from whilst he was appearing at St Georges Hall)

 

From the cells we were escorted up a very steep flight of stairs to arrive in the dock of the Court Room still in its original condition, but only used by television and film crews these days. The displays and knowledge of the guides is excellent and very informative well worth a visit.

 

No MG’s where used for this visit as the 25 members opted for a coach which returned us to the Star for supper.

 

Contact ‘Under the Clock Bradford’
Bradford Police Museum
info@bradfordpolicemuseum.com

 

North Yorkshire Welsh Tour 10th April 2016

 

South Wales trip 2016

 

On Sunday 10th April sixteen MGs from North Yorkshire Natter set off for a ‘safari’ to South West Wales. Totally organised by Mike Payne, the cars set off from Yorkshire on a route suggested by Mike, but individually planned by each owner. Part of the group left from Skipton, and others direct from Leeds. However two of our members, Kate and Jeff Marsden drove all the way from their property in Spain in their 1953 MG TD.

 

We all stayed at The Cleddau Bridge Hotel in Pembroke Dock, and Mike had organised a listing of all the interesting places to visit in the area, with route plans. The following morning, after a hearty breakfast we all disappeared to all points of the compass. My wife and I, and our MGB “Marmalade” headed to Britain’s smallest city, St. Davids in the far west, and after a sortie around the local coastal roads, ended up at the Cathedral, where we met up with others from our party. Later in the day we visited a local Welsh woollen mill at Solva

 

So it was to be over the next three days, with MGs meeting up at Tenby, Pendine Sands, and at various outlets, such as wineries, and chocolate and cheese factories. Pembroke Castle is particularly worthy of a mention, being the birthplace of Henry VII, who defeated Richard II at Bosworth field to found the Tudor Royal dynasty. The beaches in the area are beautiful, and have to be seen to be believed, especially those at Freshwater Bay. Some of our party, including Natter Leader Paul and Rosemary Croft took to the high seas for a boat trip around the ornithological haven of Skomer Island.

 

On the Tuesday morning a large group took advantage of an invitation from the trustees to visit the Seaplane Museum, near the old RAF Base and dockyard. We learned all about the history of the area and wartime exploits, and the efforts to recover a sunken Sunderland Flying Boat from the river, not far from the hotel. Some local MG owners met up with us for a drink at the hotel. That night Granville Gott organised a “beetle drive”, but instead of a beetle, one had to build an MG Midget – good fun.

 

The reputation of wet Wales was unfounded, as we had sunshine most days, and hoods were lowered, though admittedly it was a little colder than we expected. On the Thursday morning we all split up to make various journeys towards Yorkshire. My wife and I decided to head north up the coast road of Cardigan bay to Porthmadoc, to take the opportunity to visit the spectacular village of Clough Williams Ellis at Portmerion, arriving home a day later; well worth the visit. For us it was a 720 mile round trip, and the MG worked faultlessly, as did all the cars.

 

Mike and Val Payne have to be congratulated for organising a great trip, (and good weather!). Many of the group had not been to West Wales before and for them it was especially rewarding.

 

 

Ken & Julie Cothliff

Daffodil Run 2016

 

Cool and breezy could be the only way to call Easter Sunday 27th March as the members of the Yorkshire Centre MG Car Club gathered at McDonalds Car Park at Clifton Moor, York for the annual run through the Howardian Hills for the Daffodil Run. This year there were plenty of flowers to see after the warm, if damp, winter. Ninety six cars had booked to attend, and there were four late entries. The oldest car running was the 1949 MGTC of Geoff Hemmingway, and the latest – the very new 2016 MG3 of Robin and Linda Kent. ‘Interlopers’ included Brian Viney’s Jaguar Mk2, Keith Dixon in his Chrysler, and Jordan Hackney in his BMW Z4 – they were all given a friendly MG welcome.

Following a route north through the villages of Full Sutton, Stillingfleet, and Oswaldkirk the first stop opportunity was the attractive market town on Helmsley with its magnificent ruined 12th century castle. We then turned east towards Kirbymoorside, before turning north again past Rosedale Abbey, and up on to The North Yorkshire Moors proper. By now the clouds had parted and the sun was out, admittedly still a little cold for the writer’s wife so the hood on the “Marmalade” the ‘B stayed firmly up! After a few miles more we headed south towards Goathland winding under several bridges of the North Yorkshire Moors railway. Goathland is where the TV series “Heartbeat” was filmed and the area was packed with visitors, the “Aidensfield Arms” doing a roaring trade. Then it was back on to the main Whitby to Pickering road, past RAF Fylingdales radar station to the “Fox and Rabbit” Inn, where several of us took advantage of their excellent menu.

After lunch it was back southwards through the pretty village of Thornton Le Dale, (a good car museum here) to Malton and the Eden Camp Modern History Theme Museum set at the location of a World War Two prisoner of war camp. There were many memories for those of us who experienced the War, and can remember growing up in the forties and fifties – remember “California Syrup of Figs” and Cod Liver Oil, and that awful NHS orange juice syrup? – Yeuch! A great end to the day, much appreciated by the club members, and the sun held out until the storm on the way home.

Our thanks should go to David and Roger for planning the route, and Boom Marketing and Retro Lifestyle for their sponsorship. A donation of £400 is to be made to our charity Marie Curie Cancer Care.

 

Ken & Julie Cothliff & “Marmalade”

AWARDS LUNCHEON FEBRUARY 2016

 

The Awards Luncheon was held at the Mercur Hotel Wetherby on Sunday 28th February.

The new venue was well received by all who attended enjoying an excellent meal.

Once again MG Car Club director George Wilder travelled the length of the country to join us and

make the presentations, assisted by the chairman Stephen Dobson and his wife Marie.

George’s first task was to choose in his opinion the best photograph put forward by the various

Natters which had been taken throughout 2015 relevant to MG for the coveted photographic

Competition. The 24/39 Group entry of Bob & Beth Walkers 1932 PA taken on a snowy day was

George’s choice.

West Yorkshire Xmas Lunch 2015

 

The Christmas festivities started for members of the West Yorkshire natter on Sunday afternoon 6th December at the Gomersal Park Hotel, including an early visit from “SANTA”

MGCC 85th Birthday Run 10/10/2015

 

Yorkshire Centre ‘MG Car Club 85’ Run

 

Twenty Eight cars turned out at the Star Inn in Roberttown, near Liversedge, West Yorkshire on Saturday 10th October for a run organized by David and Carol Copeman to celebrate the 85th birthday of the MG Car Club, founded on 12 October 1930. Eighteen were MGs; there was an E-Type Jaguar, and a Mini Cooper S, and the others were everyday cars, for those members had ‘retired’ their beloved vehicles for the winter.

We were fortunate to have a dry day, initially with light cloud which slowly cleared during the afternoon to give a wonderful colorful autumn day for the trip to the western end of West Yorkshire. The participants included seven cars from the North Yorkshire Natter, Richard and Jill Coates from the Tiger Natter in East Yorkshire, and we were particularly pleased to see Sue and Terry Hartley from the 24/39 Group, albeit in the ‘day car’. Paul and Rosemary Croft took the opportunity to sell some more of the North Yorkshire Carrier bags – don’t get caught for 5p when you can have one of these lovely souvenirs!!

The route took us through the edge of Brighouse and over the hills at the ‘back’ of Bradford to the Raggalds Inn, where an awkward left turn took us down Perseverance Lane towards the little villages around Midgley. This is an area your ‘scribe’ does not know well and it was a wonderful introduction to an almost hidden area of Yorkshire.  After passing through Mytholmroyd, we ended up at the picturesque Hebden Bridge nestled in its valley. Julie and I took the opportunity for a browse around the shops and a ‘cuppa’.

After a U-turn we headed up the hills past Harcastle Crags, a National Trust site, and over the moors towards Colne, and Trawden, before turning east again to Haworth, finally ending the trip driving back across Bradford via the Raggalds and Heptonstall again, returning to the Star.

Some forty two members stayed for the excellent carvery at the Star, after which our Yorkshire Area President, Alan Dakeyne, cut the special cake for the 85th Birthday of the MG Car Club, decorated in due style, with a model of an MG RV8.

A great autumn afternoon out, and congratulations to David and Carol for organizing this run at relatively short notice – good idea, son!!!

Ken & Julie Cothliff & “Marmalade”.

 

End of Season Run 26th September 2015

 

MG Car Club North Yorkshire End of Season Run Saturday 26th September 2015

Reviewed by Colin Brear

On a fine and dry Saturday morning, 18 cars gathered at the Bay Horse, Bradley Skipton for tea/coffee and a bacon buttie, before participating in the MG North Yorkshire Centre charity ‘End of Season Run’ of 2015

The event is open to all makes and models, with a friend of Steve Coltman coming in his lovely 1060’s Lotus Elan.

19 cars had been booked on the event, proceeds going to the Ben Hartley Fund for Cancer Research UK.

Unfortunately Dennis and Joan Greenwood were unable to attend, due to technical issues with their MG YB. They still very kindly came down (without MG) to give a donation. Fantastic MG members’ spirit.

 

The End of Season Run for a number of years has been put together by Nick and Tess Mann, but after a busy year, culminating in the marriage of their daughter Jenny a month earlier, the honours fell to our leader Paul Croft to arrange the run.

Suggestions were sort and Miriam Brear suggested resurrecting one that had been enjoyed in September 2006.

So the dust was brushed off a 98 mile drive around North Lancashire, taking in the very scenic area of the Trough of Bowland, which had been originally put together by Club Member Mike Payne.

Paul had been amazed by the changes he had to make to the run; businesses that had closed and even a building that had been demolished, but his efforts paid off as Miriam and I did not shout at each other once or get lost!!!

We paid a visit to ‘Puddleducks Cafe and Restaurant, a lovely little place whose claim to fame is it is in the centre of the Country. We only wanted a cup of tea and comfort break. We had a friendly welcome and it was lovely to watch some young children feeding the Ducks, across from the Café.

The weather had been kind to us, good hood down pleasure and no rain but not very sunny, which proved a little galling, when it shone on the Sunday!

The countryside did not fail to deliver, superb scenery (hard to say when you are a die-hard Yorkshireman) which was showing the first signs of autumn colour.

Everyone made their way back to the finish of the run, at Bay Horse, to either join other participants for a well-deserved meal, or make their way home.

Thanks go to all the participants who raised £225 towards the Ben Hartley’s fund for Cancer Research UK. Our love and very best wishes go to Sue Hartley and husband Terry, as Sue continues her difficult fight.

 

Dales Run August Bank Holiday Sunday 2015

 

The Bay Horse (8.30am) was a hive of activity inside the team lead by Paul & Rosemary Croft were busy setting up the signing on desk, tombola and book stalls with Andrea ready to meet & greet. Outside the marshals and photographer were awaiting the entrant’s arrival 102 cars booked this year many travelling considerable distances the furthest being John Abraham from Norfolk, Howard Quale from Suffolk and Eion McLean from Clackmannan Scotland.All the cars were a tribute to their owners a 1933 L2 being the oldest and an MG3 the newest. A rare MG Cooper joined the T & Y types along with MGA’s a Magnette, Midgets, RV8’s and an abundance of B’s, and F/TF’s open to all classics Riley, Morgan, Porsche, Mini, VW and Audi once again supported the run. Earlier in the year Colin Brear and David Copeman offered as an auction prize a day on the Dales Run in an RV8 to the PPR Foundation (Brain Tumour Research) a charity North Yorkshire has been supporting this year alongside the Yorkshire Air Ambulance.By 10.00am all had eaten their bacon rolls bought their raffle tickets and collected their prizes ready to enjoy a very scenic route that would take them through the Yorkshire Dales into Cumbria crossing into Lancashire through the outskirts of the Trough of Bowland and re-entering Yorkshire.The weather could not have been better as the cars left the Bay Horse heading for Skipton centre, the Gateway to the Dales and recently awarded the accolade of           “Best Place to Live in England”Leaving Skipton towards Gargrave then turning off to pass through Airton and head through Malham, passing the magnificent lime stone formation of Malham Cove the start of the long accent to Arncliffe careful negotiating around the hairpin bends with several cyclists weaving from side to side, on reaching the summit the views were breath-taking as far as the eye could see. On reaching Arncliffe a quick photo opportunity outside the Falcon Inn (The original Woolpack in the Emmerdale series), then on through Litton with a view of Pen-y-ghent ahead passing through Langcliffe, Horton in Ribblesdale and Selside ahead the Ribblehead Viaduct unfortunately no steam trains to-day.Passing through Dent and Gawthorpe to Casterton here you had the choice of long or short route back, no contest on such a nice day turn right for Burton in Lonsdale and head towards the edges of the Trough of Bowland and moorland a total contrast to the limestone outcrops of the Dales earlier in the day with a view of Ingleborough in the distance, after passing through several villages we were back on the A59 (with white lines, most of the route roads had not been wide enough to fit a white line on!) to the Bay Horse.Sue Burgess and Sue Forsyth the two ladies who had bid for the RV8 seats were both excellent navigators and enjoyed the whole experience particularly the friendliness of everyone they are considering purchasing an MG and joining the MG Car Club RESULT! The event raised £1000.00p for the Yorkshire Air Ambulance, thanks’ to all the organisers and to you the participants for making the Dales Run 2015 yet another successful event.

Reviewed by David Copeman

Burley in Wharfedale Festival August 2015

 

For the past few years the village of Burley in Wharfedale, in the shadow of Ilkley Moor (bah’t t’at!) has held a classic car show at the local cricket club. After a goodly few of the North Yorkshire Natter members attended independently, it was decided to go as a group this year. Organised by Colin Brear we met up at the Fox Inn in Menston and went in convoy. Some sixteen cars were present in our group including Mick Mann (Magnette), Bill Poole and Sandra (MGA), Jeff and Kate Marsden (MGTD) Ken Cothliff (Midget Mk1 “Little Red”), Colin and Miriam, and David and Carol Copeman (MG RV8s), and a large selection of various MGBs. In addition, members of West Yorkshire Natter were spotted including Geoffrey Wilson in his pre-war MG VA, and Steve Pashley

Thankfully the weather was warm and sunny – a ‘hole’ in the wet weather prevailing at the time, and a warm breeze kept the temperature very pleasant. I think we all got home safely before the anticipated thunderstorm arrived about 5pm.

In addition to British classic cars there were several traction engines, American Classics and, and ‘Hot Rods’, including a wonderful 1950’s Ford Pick Truck, and a good time-line on old Land Rovers

This show is going from strength to strength each year, and the organisers are to be praised, though the number of ‘modern’ cars might have to be limited in future years if everyone is to get on the cricket field!

 

Ken Cothliff

CANADA RUN 6th June 2015

 

Canada Run 2015

 

Yet again the “Canada Run”, this year on June 6th, organised again by yours truly was blessed with fabulous weather. It was a lovely day – if a little windy; definitely a day to have the hood down! It was the third time we had the Canada Run, and third time with blazing sunshine. Who says it is always dark and gloomy ‘up north’?

Certainly, Ron Kemp from Maidstone didn’t find it gloomy. Among the 39 entries, he was the entrant from the greatest distance, in his 2010 MGTF. Most of the entrants came from the four Yorkshire counties, but we did have Pete Cadman from Chesterfield, (1997 MGF), and David Walker from Kings Lynn (2001 MGF) This year the start was from the Bridge Inn at Walshford near Wetherby; a really good starting point as we had the whole of the overflow car park to ourselves, and according to those who partook, the ‘Bacon Butties’ were excellent quality. We had three ‘interlopers’ whom we warmly welcomed – David Marsh in his Lotus Elan, John Dennison in his Triumph TR5, and Terry Percival from Stockton on Tees in his Triumph TR6. The MG spirit of “the marque of friendship” prevailed.

The aim of the run was go around all the of WW2 bomber airfields manned by the Royal Canadian Air Force, and the local memorials. As you read this in the summer months of 2015, it will be 70 years since those young men returned to their homeland, leaving behind over 15,000 souls who were killed in service with Bomber Command. Included in the entrants was Gordon Bell in his 1970 MGBGT, whose father had served with the Canadians – it was a special run for him and Kathy.

The route firstly took the cars to Allerton Castle, just up the old A1, which was the headquarters for the Canadian Bomber Group in WW2, where the owners allowed us on to their grass for a photo opportunity in the bright sunshine. After that it was through the winding lanes to the old toll bridge at Aldwark. Here there was something of a traffic jam with three different cycling events all converging at the same point about the same time! (The North Yorks Police never told me about that when I rang and emailed to advise of our run. Advice to run organisers – ask the question of any other events that might clash with your route.) Sadly, the cyclists seemed to be with the cars for quite a time. Over the bridge we were passed by a lovely Jaguar XK150, the driver giving the MGs a cheery wave

After passing by RAF Linton on Ouse, and the disused airfield at East Moor, near Sutton on the Forest, the cars headed north over the Howardian Hills toward the old airfield at Wombleton to the lovely market town of Helmsley. Here a decision had to be taken by the entrants as to whether they headed further north to Teesside and the two airfields up there, Croft, now a racing circuit, and Middleton St. George – now Durham Teesside Airport. The alternative was a shorter route via Thirsk to RAF Leeming, where the northern participants would re-join the track. From conversations afterwards it was apparent that most of the cars went for the longer run of about 160 miles.

After leaving Leeming it was the a tortuous weave through the attractive leafy lanes of the Vale of York, past Dishforth, Skipton on Swale and finally Tholthorpe – the most intact of the disused airfields in the area. The final rendezvous was the Sidings Restaurant, just north of York on the A19, where Sid and his staff made us extremely welcome. These premises are made up of old railway coaches around an old rail-side building – a lovely restaurant and B&B, if you like trains!

Many of those who took part said they would return to find out more about this part of our history. “Adding history to a run makes it more interesting,” was the oft repeated comment. What a great way to enjoy your MG on a lovely sunny Yorkshire Saturday.

 

Ken Cothliff (Son of one of the Canadians lost.)

Wolds Way Run 10th May 2015

 

It must be a sign of age, time goes by so quickly but really it was the Wolds Way Run’s 20th year? We had missed the first two but enjoyed all the others in a Maestros, a Metro, and MGB GTs and now in a white MG3Style loaned from sponsors and hosts of the run Maple Garage at Sproatley.

 

Bill and Janet Sharp in their 1960 MGA and Paul and Marilyn Savoury this year in their 1950 MG TD, have done all the runs and so are exclusive members of the Wolds Way Veterans Club.  Traditionally the oldest cars lined up first for the start.  This year two MG TD’s, three MGA’s, an Austin Healey Sprite and a 1953 Morris Oxford. Unfortunately Giles Peacock in his 1936 MG TA was unable to come, so missing the run for the first time. The quality of all the cars looked like they were entrants of a concours show not waiting to start on a 106 mile run across the beautiful Yorkshire Wolds on a lovely spring day.

 

With plaques attached the 81 cars headed towards the coast negotiating a ford, ok a flooded road, before stopping for ice cream at Mappleton. We turned inland to Driffield with lovely views of the canal, then to Garton on the Wolds with its beautiful Norman church. Views of the Humber Bridge could be seen in the distance within the beautiful panorama of the Wolds viewed from the Sir Tatton Sykes Memorial at Sledmere.  The weather was kind and views were spectacular with the many fields bright yellow of oil seed rape. We passed through pretty villages still adorning the blue and yellow bunting and painted bikes from le tour de Yorkshire of the previous weekend. The spectacular Thixendale then to Millington Pastures, one of the few dales with trees, and our traditional lunch stop at the Gait Inn, Millington.  This day the MGs had taken over the village from the ramblers and cyclists. Using roads close to the Yorkshire Wolds Way National Trail our finishing point was at Heritage Landscape Centre at Melton. Here the raffle was drawn and £325 was raised for the charity Max Appeal.  The day raised a £600 donation for the Yorkshire Air Ambulance. The MG3 handled very well through the narrow lanes and would we like one…..oh yes!

 

Geoff and Ray had done a great job with the route using roads many had not seen before.  We had visited the east coast, the town capital of the Yorkshire Wolds, the stately Sledmere House, a characteristic country pub, seen such beautiful countryside and then finish at a garden centre.  What a full entertaining day! Our thanks to organisers; Geoff Kirk, Ray Snowley, Christine and Adrian Benson, June and Tony Reid, Jill and Greg Thornton and Chris and Steve Moore. On checking the roads during the week before they found there were two closures, so entrants were required to amend their route books. Hopefully we didn’t loose anyone?

 

Reviewed by Chris Moore

Drive it Day April 2015

Drive It Day April 2015

At the invitation of Terry Hartley and Bob Walker of the Yorkshire 24/39 Group, a dozen or so members of the North Yorkshire Natter headed to Sutton Bank, near Thirsk. Some of us, Paul Croft, Mike Payne, Bill Poole, Granville Gott, and Jack Tinker with their wives, had started out from the Bay Horse at Skipton, whereas Steve and Andrea Coltman, Julie and I joined the Wharfedale TR Group at Poole Bank, near Otley, heading for Kilburn in the same area. The run through the Vale of York was perfect, and we passed many other classic car groups going various directions, taking in the spirit of “Drive it Day”.

The Yorkshire Gliding Club is situated at the top of Whitestone Cliff, one of the most spectacular viewpoints in Yorkshire with views north, west and south from the raised area of the club café, as well as the edge of the cliff.

Some of us took advantage of the absolutely perfect flying weather to have a flight, including Jack and Wilma Tinker, and your ‘scribe’. The sky was clear, but plenty of Alto Cumulous clouds providing perfect lifts – some as much as 400ft. per minute. I could see to the top of the Pennines and the North Sea, near Scarborough.

The club offered excellent meals at really good value, and we got the opportunity to park a couple of our cars near the gliders for a photographic opportunity. The Club are keen to support such groups as ours, and I would recommend MG clubs take advantage of their enthusiasm.

Enjoy the photos of a great day.

 

Ken Cothliff

Drive it Day Sunday 26th April 2015

Sunday 26th April and the Oil Can Cafe’ was one of the venues for Drive it Day organised by South Yorkshire and joined by West Yorkshire members.

The café had arranged to open earlier so that the group could have breakfast prior to a tour of the workshops.

Never having been to this venue although being regular visitors in the area it was a very pleasant surprise as we entered the café area which is surrounded with classic cars and shops selling vintage clothing to see all the tables set with table cloths and bone china crockery not what we were expecting at a GARAGE! After all being served with a full English breakfast we re-grouped for the tour.

The owner a self-confessed eccentric described in great detail the work that was being undertaken by the ten workshop staff which included two apprentices.

Several MG’s were in various stages of repair along with Bentley, Morgan, Jaguar and American muscle cars. One MG of interest was an MGB that had a fibre glass RV8 front end that had been made by the owner one of the body shop staff, this car had been taken down to MG motors to inspect prior to the original RV8’s being produced.

The most expensive car in the workshops was an original AC Cobra.

A very pleasant day which everyone enjoyed.

 

Daffodil Run 5th April 2015

Yorkshire Centre’s Daffodil Run supporting Marie Curie Cancer Care

Organised by Chris, Dawn & Sophie Flanagan

This year’s Daffodil Run had a record 97 entrant’s from all over Yorkshire this being the centres first major run in our calendar is getting ever popular considering the run started with 10 cars 12 years ago. There was a fine selection of MG’s including F, PB, TA, TC, Y type, Magnette, MGA, MGB, Midget, Maestro, RV8, MGF/TF, MGF KV6, ZT260, ZR, LE500 the oldest a 1932 MG F Type owned by Bob & Beth Walker to the latest MG3 owned by Craig Pickering, with other classic marques whose owners have supported the run for several years in amongst the MG’s, Brian Viney Jaguar Mk 2 from Scunthorpe, Alex Clatcher Rover 2000 TC, from Darlington, Robert & Margaret Millican VW Cabriolet, Ian Collingwood Hudson TF, Andy & Anita Boid Austin A40 & Steve Wood in a Healey 3000, Andy & Anita Boid Honda CRX, Martin Eves VW Golf from Lincoln

Contrary to the weather forecast the sun was out for the day, hoods were downed, rally plaques were fitted, route books checked always good to get the first directions right! After an hour breakfasting and meeting up with friends old and new cars started to depart being flagged off by Sophie Flanagan

The 66 mile route started out from Clifton Moor Retail Park heading towards Sheriff Hutton as we approached the T junction at Stillington we were met with a banking full of daffodils in full bloom, we continued on through Brandsby and the busy village of Hovingham to make a right turn back towards Sheriff Hutton, passing Yorkshire Lavender we could see many of the early starters had stopped for the tea rooms. Castle Howard would be our tea room stop or so we thought! Bank Holiday we gave it a miss seeing cars queuing for the carpark. Onwards through Coneysthorpe, Malton to arrive at Kirkham Abbey the entire carpark had been taken over with MG’s double, treble & quadruple parked our lunch stop. All the cars at this stage where pristinely clean, this would change for many as the next section would be along several wet & muddy single track roads as we headed for villages named in the route book with wonderfully unusual names like Bugthorpe,  Friday Thorpe, Wetwang, Youlthorpe, Fangfoss & Wilberfoss to finally arrive in the village of Elvington were the run would conclude at the Yorkshire Air Museum.

Chris was at the gate to greet everyone and direct us to our designated parking area alongside the large display hanger. Time now to spend looking around the aircraft exhibits or visit the Naffi for refreshments.  Congratulations to Chris, Dawn & Sophie for organising an excellent run and finishing venue, wetting all our appetites for future events this year.

Review  by David Copeman

End of Season Run North Yorkshire 4th October 2014

This year’s autumn run on Saturday 4th October, held to mark the end of the annual season, was organized by Nick Mann, assisted by his wife, Tess. Twenty cars were booked to attend; in the end two ‘scrubbed’ including your ‘scribe’ as MGB “Marmalade” had succumbed to a serious electrical fault a day or so before, so I ended up navigating for John Waterhouse. The other car just failed to turn up. No doubt the dreadful weather forecast in the morning had something to do with it. Amongst the notable starters were Dennis and Joan Greenwood and Robin Lowry in their MG YB saloons. In drizzle the cars left the Bay Horse at Skipton about ten o’clock and headed across the ‘border’ into Lancashire, the weather getting wetter by the minute. After Slaidburn in the Forest of Bowland (an often forgotten very pretty area of England), we headed out over the ‘Lancashire cycle route’ towards the north and Hornby, shortly after crossing the county boundary back into Yorkshire over the A65. click on image to enlarge It was here that Dennis and his YB were ‘shunted’ by an over eager taxi driver, meaning that he had some severe damage that will require a specialist body repair, and loss of his rear offside indicator – so they withdrew and headed back home to Keighley. Fortunately some members were on hand as witnesses and to help tie up the boot lid for the home journey. The rest of us now headed deep into the north Yorkshire Dales, and up to Dent, which has the highest railway station in England, on the Settle to Carlisle line. The weather was clearing by now, and John and I had the hood down at last. The drive up Barbondale Dentdale was spectacular. We watched a pair on Hen Harriers wheeling in the skies as we had our packed lunch. Then it was back under the Ribblesdale Viaduct, down the B6255 to Ingleton, and back to Skipton. We were the first back after a run of some 104 miles, and Nick and Tess are to be congratulated on a great run to round off the years ‘rolling’ events. Review by Ken Cothliff ( An ‘interloper’ happy to be back across the western border!!)

North Yorkshire a sunny day on the Lancashire Coast October 2014

For the past couple of years, in response to questions about my ‘home’ territory, I have organized a coach trip each autumn to Merseyside. In 2102 it was to Liverpool (The Holy City!!), then in 2013 to Port Sunlight and the Wirral peninsular. This year we decided to head a little further north, to the Borough of Sefton.

First stop was to my hometown of Crosby to the Gormley’s statues, officially called “Another Place”, known locally as the ‘Iron Men’. There are 100 of them set in the beach from Seaforth to Blundellsands, about a mile wide and half a mile of so seaward. The tide was rapidly coming in, but we managed to get a good look at those landward side. Following that we headed inland through the pretty village of Little Crosby – unique in England, as it has retained its Catholic population, even through Henry VIII’s Reformation.

Past the Pheasant Inn, at Hightown, we headed for Southport, passing close to RAF Woodvale, one of only two RAF stations remaining in the west of England.  At Ainsdale we saw the sculpture of a 1930’s Lockheed Electra, marking Dick Merrill and Jack Lambie’s take off from Ainsdale Sands across the Atlantic to New York in May 1937.

http://www.southportvisiter.co.uk/whats-on/whats-on-news/ainsdales-part-in-aviation-history-6614835

We spent the next few hours in the beautiful seaside town of Southport, strolling in the sun down Lord Street, which became the pattern for Paris’s Champs Elysses, after the French Emperor had visited the town. Some of us took the advantage to visit a really good antiques centre.                                                                                                                                                                  We started out journey home with a visit just a few miles down the coast, to N.T. Formby Point Reserve in the hope of seeing some Red Squirrels, and some incredible prehistoric footprints in the seaside mud, but the high Equinoxal Tide was against us, and they were covered by sand. If you are interested in more detail: –  www.youtube.com/watch?v=ULW76HlxjXA

After a group photograph, we headed back via the market town of Ormskirk, and its strange church with separate tower and spire, and along the East Lancashire Road home. The weather was on our side all day, and apart from a brief shower in Formby, it was sunshine all the way – just like the previous trips!

Review by Ken Cothliff

 

Dales Run 24th August 2014

As a wonderful sunny Yorkshire day rose, the members of the North Yorkshire Natter gathered at the Bay Horse Inn, Skipton to organise the parking of the cars for this year’s run through the beautiful Yorkshire Dales, seen so amply on the spectacular televising of “Le Grand Depart” Tour De France cycle race earlier in the year. This year’s run, organised by Natter Leader, Paul Croft took in the eastern end of the Dales, and was planned with two options of short and long routes of some 80 miles and 113 miles respectively. About 105 cars were expected, including a few “outsiders”. The oldest being MG John Rogers’ 1933 MG L2 from Grantham, and the latest being Alan Hodson’s 2012 MG6 from Bridlington. More distant entries included two MGFs from Cambridge, two MGAs from Knutsford and Newcastle on Tyne, and an MGF TF from Bury St. Edmonds. In fact the Tyneside Natter had a large number of members at the event, and some of us joined them at a local Chinese Restaurant the night before. As the cars gathered at the pub in the sun, the members of the Natter organised a book sale and raffle in aid of the North Yorkshire Air Ambulance, as the participants booked in and enjoyed free tea and coffee. Many took the opportunity to try some of the Pub’s excellent Bacon ‘Butties’. Meanwhile Paul’s brother, Neil, took the opportunity to capture the cars in the car park before heading out for some action photos on the routes. The first MG out just after 9.35 was Owen Frankland’s 1937 MG TA from Stockton on Tees. The route itself took us up through Ryedale and the spectacular Kilnsey Crag to the heart of the Dales area. In Kettlewell we came across Tom Harrison’s lovely 1934 red Riley Roadster which had broken down. In the true spirit of the “MG Marque of Friendship”, Jeff and Kate Marsden, Howard Riley (How appropriate!!) and I stopped to help. Diagnosing a faulty condenser, Howard, a professional mechanic, had a replacement supplied by Jeff, wired in and soon we were all on our way again. Some the roads your ‘scribe’ had never been on before, included one out of the back of Kettlewell to Coverdale, with a very steep climb up on to the ‘tops’. Lots of steep turns meant that our 948cc Midget Mk.1 “Little Red” had to drop down to first gear several times, really struggling with the sharp inclines, which I found out at the lunch break caught out a few participants, including the 1937 TA and Tess Mann in her1956 Morris Minor. After 31 miles we were at the Three Horseshoes Pub at Wensley, where many took advantage of the excellent menu and real ale. Here the route broke into two sections, with some members electing to return on the shorter route, but many others, including Howard, “Little Red” and I, taking the longer route, taking the road to Redmire, Reeth, and up ever higher to the CB Inn, then back over the moors to Low Row, and back via Leyburn to the Three horseshoes, an extra leg some 20 miles, where we rejoined the short route. The views on this part were really spectacular. The final leg took us all to the lovely village of Middleham, and its spectacular Castle, early home to the Yorkist King, Richard III, and past nearby 12th century Jervaux Abbey, then another leg of 7 miles over the moors to the steep incline in to Lofthouse, and past Gowthwaite Reservoir to Pateley Bridge. The route returned up the B6265 Greenhow Hill to Grassington and back to Skipton, where many stayed for a late evening meal at the Bay Horse – it was just too nice to go home early! The good news is we raised enough to send a forthcoming cheque of £1000 to our nominated charity, the Yorkshire Air Ambulance. The run was a great success and Paul, who has received lots of complimentary e-mails, and the North Yorkshire Team are to be congratulated on an excellent day. OK – the lovely sunshine had something to do with it, but the scenery in one of the most beautiful areas of “God’s own County” also made it very special. Here in Yorkshire we hope that we can attract more MGCC members from the Midlands and South for next year’s run, to be held over the August Bank Holiday.                                                                                                          Review by Ken Cothliff

Harewood House Father's Day Show 15th June 2014

For the first time this year the Yorkshire Area MGCC had a dedicated area at the annual Father’s Day Classic Car rally held at Harewood House, just north of Leeds. This year the event was run by the Yorkshire Post Newspaper Group for the first time, and the area put together a display of 21 cars.The day started miserably with drizzle turning to rain – not at all what had been forecast. Long grass added to the misery with many exhibitors complaining, but with hindsight that long grass kept the mud at bay, and there appeared to be problems with movement about the site, even as everyone was leaving.

Members came from most of the Natters in the area, with Steve & Chris Moore coming from Beverley, Geoff & Pauline Norcliffe, Malcolm & Denis Perry, Graham & Anita Saunders and Clive Moss from the South Natter. Amongst the others attending were Paul & Rosemary Croft, Steve Coltman, Jeff & Kate Marsden from the North Natter, David & Carol Copeman, Chris, Dawn, Sophie & Sam Flanagan (MG Lifestyle) along with their parents Roger & Sue Flanagan & David & Joyce Chapman from the West Yorkshire. We even welcomed a young man called Chris (I didn’t get his surname) whose dad was in the club, and who had nearly restored the family grey MGB. Sadly Dad died suddenly from a heart attack; Chris had completed the restoration, and had brought the car to Harewood as a tribute to his dad – a lovely Father’s Day tribute, and he was welcomed by all the members. (He’s taken his forms for the Dales Run!) My personal thanks to all of you who attended (including those not named!), and braved the early weather.

The display was ‘headed’ by our President Alan Dakeyne’s recently restored 1939 MG VA which caught the eye of the newspaper’s photographer, the photo attached is courtesy of Yorkshire Post newspapers, the others are by your ‘scribe’. After the lunch the weather cleared to almost a half decent day, and the members took the chance to wander around the various car displays. I have to say when one considers our strength as a marque and the number of members we have, I would like to think next year we will have more cars present. Even the “Leeds ZR/ZT Rover” group had a bigger and better display than us.

Still it was a first for the MG Car Club, and I hope you will put the annual Father’s Day Event in your diary for next year.

Ken Cothliff, and ‘Little Red’

 

24/39 GROUP Drive it Day April 2014

24/39 Group – Terry Hartley

Thanks’ to Bob & Beth Walker for organising this years Drive it Day venue at Lotherton Hall which saw an excellent selection of cars the oldest a 1927 Austin 7 to the latest LE 500’s join the F, J2’s, PA & VA’s displayed on the Wedding Lawn in front of the Hall, to complement the MG’s we had guest cars including Lotus, Triumph and Morgan bringing the total line up to 32 cars

Clubmans Auto Test (Doncaster) 23 March 2014

 

Stewards Report

The relevant paperwork was provided and was satisfactory.
Scrutinising of vehicles was carried out in the signed Paddock Aria and all vehicles were satisfactory.
Driver briefing was organised and clear.
Access to the site was through a manned gate and there were no spectator safety issues.
There were no accidents or protests and the meeting was competently marshalled and the tests timed..
Inclement weather caused a small reduction in the number of tests.
The Clerk of the Course was experienced in this type of event and controlled all situations in the correct manner.
This proved to be an excellent introductory event for first time competitors at a very good venue.

Alan D. Dakeyne

Member V S C C and MG C.C.

Upcoming Events
Nov
10
Fri
9:00 am Classic Motor Show @ NEC
Classic Motor Show @ NEC
Nov 10 @ 9:00 am – Nov 12 @ 5:00 pm
 
Dec
3
Sun
2:00 pm South Yorkshire Christmas Lunch @ La Luna Cafe
South Yorkshire Christmas Lunch @ La Luna Cafe
Dec 3 @ 2:00 pm – 6:00 pm
Visit to Piece Hall prior to lunch, click on event website for menu’s
Dec
17
Sun
12:00 pm West Yorkshire Christmas Lunch @ Gomersal Park Hotel
West Yorkshire Christmas Lunch @ Gomersal Park Hotel
Dec 17 @ 12:00 pm – 3:30 pm
Sunday 17th December 2017 @ Gomersal Park Hotel in the Oakwell Suite arrive 12.oo – 12.30pm to eat @ 1.00pm
Dec
26
Tue
all-day South Yorkshire BOXING DAY RAFT ... @ Scarborough Raft Race
South Yorkshire BOXING DAY RAFT ... @ Scarborough Raft Race
Dec 26 all-day
Meet at 10.30am @ The Watermark Cafe’                                                        [...]